Linking Parliamentarians & Hurriyat Leaders

Linking Parliamentarians & Hurriyat Leaders – 2010

15th to 19th September 2010- All Party Delegation to Jammu & Kashmir- Lobbying with National and Regional Political Parties, Parliamentarians and groups in Kashmir: The All Party Meeting held on 15th September resolved to send an All Party Delegation to Jammu & Kashmir from 20 to 22nd September 2010 to study the ground situation and suggest way forward.

People from different walks of life came out in large numbers to make their representations to the Delegation. Further, three groups from the All Party Delegation comprising Mr. Sitaram Yachuri, Mr. Ram Vilas Paswan, Mr. Gurudas Dasgupta, Mr. Nama Nageshwar Rao, Mr. Asaduddin Owaisi, Mr. T.R. Balu, Mr. Shahid Siddiqui and others did go to the homes of the separatist leaders Syed Ali Shah Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Yasin Malik and created history in the annals of peace on the eve of World Peace day that is celebrated on 21st September.

20th to 25th September 2010- Consultations with civil society organization in Srinagar, Delhi, Hyderabad and Mumbai for the formation of People’s Initiative on Jammu & Kashmir- Meetings with political leaders and parliamentarians for raising the issue of turmoil in Kashmir in Parliament and assurances by Parliamentarians in the matter. Discussion on Kashmir in the Lok Sabha on 26th August 2010 and in the Rajya Sabha during Zero Hour raised by Ms. Brinda Karat on 31st August 2010

initiative that is aiming to bring together Huriat leaders and Members of Parliament of India for a dialogue to pave way for addressing the outstanding problems. In pursuance of this objective, the civil society group comprising of Kashmiri Muslims, Pandits and members from other parts of the country meet regularly. It is proposed to form a caucus of parliamentarians on the Kashmir issue who will take the dialogue process forward. Some parliamentarians have already agreed to function as a core team that could facilitate the formation of the caucus and work towards the dialogue process. Please see more Annual Report 2010